Texas Tech Foundation Names New Directors

Steve Gray, George H. McMahan, David Segrest and Leslie Ward appointed to volunteer board.

The Texas Tech Foundation announced, today, four new members of its board of directors. The directors officially took office during their first meeting on Friday, Nov. 2.

“The Texas Tech Foundation is a crucial partner in securing the resources our universities need to impact Texas and the world, which is why the appointment of dedicated members is essential to our continued success,” said Dr. Tedd L. Mitchell, chancellor of the Texas Tech University System and president of Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center. “I am excited to welcome these new members and am confident their leadership and service will help advance the strong momentum we have at each of our universities.”

The four new directors are:

  • Steve Gray, member of Concho Resources’ board of directors and resident of Dallas.
  • George H. McMahan, owner of George McMahan Development in Lubbock.
  • David Segrest, of counsel for Foley Gardere in Dallas.
  • Leslie Ward, senior vice president of legislative and corporate external affairs for AT&T in Austin.

The Texas Tech Foundation board of directors nominated the new members this summer, and the Texas Tech University System Board of Regents approved the slate at their Oct. 4 meeting. The new directors will serve four-year terms ending Aug. 31, 2022.

“Our newest members of the Texas Tech Foundation represent the business, civic and philanthropic accomplishments of our alumni,” said Don Maddox, chairman of the Texas Tech Foundation. “The nominating committee selected an experienced cadre of leaders, and my fellow board members and I look forward to serving alongside them to ensure a strong future for the Texas Tech University System.”

For more than 75 years, the Texas Tech Foundation has partnered with the Texas Tech University System to raise, manage and invest private gifts for the benefit of the system and its four universities. The nonprofit foundation is governed by a volunteer board of directors who meet quarterly to review investment performance and ensure that donors’ long-term interests are being served.

Next story

TTUHSC Surgery Professor Honored for Research Excellence